On a rollercoaster.


We would all like to believe that we are in control of our emotions, that we could -willingly- feel an emotion or simply delete it. Since emotions are a pure product of the mind, this means that controlling them is not an absolute impossibility.

We would all like to think so.

On the other hand, we think of ourselves as impenetrable shields of facades and strengths. As if we could take on anything in the world and remain unchangeable, unwavering. As if this tough exterior can get hit by lightings of heartaches and thunders of sadness and earthquakes of seduction and still stand strong in the face of it all.

But there’s only so much that a human spirit can take on.

www.ibaiacevedo.com
By Ibai Acevedo

In the midst of an adventure, you will not feel the changes that you’re absorbing and that are imprinting on the deepest level of your being. However, when the time comes, you probably won’t recognize yourself. The vast disparity between the person you thought you were and the person you actually turned out to be will catch you off guard.

When you’re into something way too deep, you tend to lose track of time and space, and sadly you lose track of people. You put almost all of your emotional energy into something, thinking that you have found the perfect gateway for you.

But sometimes it’s important and needed to just drag yourself out of a story no matter how hard it is and take a good look at yourself; see if you like this person, if this person you thought you knew is satisfied. If not, then learn how to satisfy your needs, wants and desires.

Figure yourself out.

6 thoughts on “On a rollercoaster.

  1. Quote I found as a friend’s status:

    “Our Great War’s a spiritual war… our Great Depression is our lives.
    We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be
    millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re
    slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.”

    Tyler Durden

    I had this great plan for myself, to be this, to do that, to achieve, to succeed, but along the way, little by little, life wore me down, people disappointed me, but most of all I disappointed myself: I thought I was immune. I thought I knew too well how to get what I wanted.

    The possibility of remaining a nobody (relative to what I had drawn up for myself) is becoming more and more real. It’s so overwhelming that even though I know what to do, I do nothing.

    1. ” but most of all i disappointed myself” Oh how i can relate.
      someone told me once that the hardest thing is to disappoint yourself.
      but i believe when that happens, we learn so much about ourselves and our needs and desires. and when you can figure these two out, it’s a start to a life you want for yourself.
      but then some are too scared to take any risks thus avoiding disappointment.
      my best experience is when that happened to me. it was a complete and utter life changing experience.

  2. Great post!

    “Figure yourself out” – I think alot of people out there need to ultimately figure themselves out. It’s sad actually.

Leave a Reply

